Abbey CBS Newry Grammar School

The Abbey Grammar School
77a, Ashgrove Road
Co Down, BT34 1QN
N Ireland
+44 (0) 28 3026 3142

Two In A Row for Ben Dearg

Date Posted: 15th June 2016

For the second year in a row, the Abbey CBS first year squad have won the Ben Dearg competition.

In a pulsating final against nearby rivals St Colman’s the Abbey came out victorious 3:18 – 3:04.

After a bright start from St Colman’s the Abbey settled themselves and play some lovely football. The Abbey kept the ball in the attacking half for long periods of time and this was the platform for a halftime scoreline of 2:14 – 1:02.

In the second half the Abbey stepped up a gear and took some crucial scores which gave them the cushion they needed to defend the lead.

As the game approach the last ten minutes St Colman’s hit back with some well taken goals and a comeback could have been on the cards but the Abbey where strong and resolute in defence and stood firm to take the trophy back to Ashgrove for a second year in a row.

Abbey CBS First Year Squad

Aaron Kelly
Aidan Havern
Ryan O’hare
Liam O’Connor
Darcy Burns
Pearse Blessing
Adam Garvey
Jamie Doran
Daire Carragher
Zach Murdock
Finn Murdock
Cillian McCardle
Pauric Mallon
Senan Morgan
Bernard Cassidy
Ben Matthews
Dara Quinn
Eoin McKernan
Shea Kearney
Luke McKeever
Luke Kelly
Keelin McAvoy
Fiachra McEvoy
Johnny McGivern
Tom McKeveney
Matthew Morgan
Cormac Flanagan

Click to access the login or register cheese